Skip to content
July 13, 2012 / Katy

Three years.

July 15 will mark three years that I’ve been employed at Thomas Nelson.  If someone told me during college that I would move to Nashville, work in marketing at a publishing company, and love my job, I would’ve responded: “Really?  That sounds nice, but you are crazy.  Nashville is far from here, I know nothing about marketing and publishing, and that doesn’t sound like anything I want to do right now.”

And that’s when God stepped in and took over my idea of a “plan.”

When I think back on the past three years, I start to get a little teary at the amount of things I’ve experienced and the friends I’ve gained.  

I started to think of Nashville after my brother and SIL (Adam and Ansley) moved there in 2007.  I had never visited the town before they moved, but I quickly began to see how much it had to offer.  As the summer of my junior year of college approached, I began brainstorming internship ideas.  I knew I wanted to connect with a church and ideally intern with a youth ministry program.  So, I started researching churches and intern opportunities in Nashville.  I thought, “What’s better than a summer away in a new town and extra time with Adam and Ansley?”

So, the summer of 2008 I lived in Nashville with Adam and Ansley (who so graciously let me stay for free) and was a Junior High Youth intern at one Nashville’s many incredible churches.  It was quite possibly one of my favorite summers, and I left to return to school in August in tears.  I cried over the things I learned, the friends I made, the fun I had, and the feeling inside that Nashville was to be my new home.

My senior year of college was a blast, but a bit of a blur too.  Everyone spent the year trying to figure out what they would do starting the day after graduation.  It was a year of resumes, final exams, networking, researching, hoping, and praying.  All I knew about my post-graduation plan was that I was determined to get back to Nashville.

So, I did just that.  I graduated on May 9, 2009, spent some time saying goodbye to Milledgeville, GA, went home for a bit, enjoyed a few days at the beach, and then packed up my things and headed to Nashville on May 31 with no job lined up and a temporary place to stay.  Adam and Ansley graciously opened up their home to me yet again, and we decided I had until the end of the summer to “figure things out.”

I won’t bore you with the details of job hunting, because we all know how that goes.  It was many days of online hunting, meeting with friends of friends, plenty of “no’s”, and lots of frustration, but at the beginning of July I accepted a job in Sales at Thomas Nelson with not a clue in the world what I was doing 🙂  What I thought would be a “starter job” soon turned out to be a launch of career I didn’t even know I was interested in. 

Fast forward three years, and I’m still in Nashville and still at TN.  I took a new job at the company in December and have been slowly learning the world of marketing.  It’s a lots-of-details, overflowing-emails, keep-up-with-the-chaos kind of job, but it’s alot of fun.  And the part I love the most about it, is that it’s a job that never crossed my mind.  I trusted that although I couldn’t see exactly where I was headed, God knew what He was doing.  And not only did He know, but He blew my mind. (not-so-secret: He still blows my mind everyday)

Nashville has my heart.  Alot has happened in three years, and alot will happen in the next three.  What I can’t wait to see is that moment in July of 2015 when I say, “Had someone told me I’d be ______ and doing ______ and feeling _______ three years ago, I would’ve called them crazy.”

I’m so grateful that God’s plans are better than mine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

