Skip to content
November 9, 2011 / Katy

A blog post in a crowded room.

Blog posts are interesting.  Some people blog about a new insight they’ve discovered.  Others about a craft they have made.  Some show us pictures of their new baby or tell us stories about their life overseas.  And everyone has something to say.

It’s a lot of pressure.  Whether your reading audience is 1 or 100,000, writing the perfect post carries weight.

I want my post to be insightful or informative or funny.  I want the reader to not be bored and I want them to come visit the blog again.  I want to leave them pondering or I want to leave them laughing.

But why?

Why don’t I just write the stories and questions of my life down in a journal for only my eyes to see?  Why do I feel it necessary to share life with friends and even strangers?

Because I want to be known.  We all do.

In the same way that we walk into a crowded room and want someone to recognize us, bring us into the familiar and break down the barrier of uncomfortable- we want someone to listen.

We want readers to share life with us.  Celebrate with us.  Question with us.  Remember us.

It’s the reason that I post a new entry, even after 1.5 months away from the blog.  It’s because I don’t want to be forgotten.

I’ve been reading a lot about Paul and his mission work throughout the New Testament as I study for my World Missions class.  His willingness to go where the Holy Spirit led is inspiring.  It wasn’t about Paul, but it was about Paul’s desire to spread the Gospel and the name of Jesus across nations.  Paul’s mission was not to make Paul known, but to make Christ known.

May my mission be the same.  May my words be a reflection of God’s presence in my life and together may we walk this journey He’s laid before us.

I might walk into a crowded room and not know a soul, feel really awkward, and want to stand in a corner pretending to talk on my cell phone.  But WHO I represent with my actions and words matters more than my desire to feel accepted.  God didn’t call us to be comfortable.  He called us to be a light in a dark and crowded room.

“Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” MATTHEW 28:19-20

Leave a Reply

