Skip to content
December 27, 2010 / Katy

a trace of You.

It’s 9:15p.m. and I’m snuggled in my pj’s, sitting on my bed, and reflecting over the Christmas holidays that have just passed.  I drove back into Nashville today after spending 9 wonderful days at home in Augusta.  As I pulled onto my street in Nashville, I just smiled to myself as I thought about how truly blessed I am.

Sometimes I don’t get it.  How is it that God’s blessed me with such incredible people and opportunities in my life?   I know there are many that don’t enjoy being around their families, but I that’s not the case for me.  I love my family and cherish the moments when we all get to be together.

It’s the simple stuff like sitting around our kitchen eating my mom’s homemade pimento cheese and laughing at each other, watching my niece Shelby smile at us, applauding each other as we open our Christmas presents, and completely indulging over Christmas breakfast at my aunt’s house.  These are the things that stay with me (especially those extra pounds from the Christmas breakfast…), not the presents I open.

And don’t even get me started on my love for Nashville.  I was so excited to arrive back in town today, even though I’d only been gone for 9 days.  I love this place and its people.  I’m surrounded by incredible friends and a town full of passion.  Being 24 (almost) in a place that’s full of opportunity, fun things to do, and of course MUSIC, is more than I could ask for.  If someone told me at age 16 that I’d live in Nashville at 24, I would’ve called them crazy.  To leave Georgia would have seemed impossible.   But now, I can’t think of any other place I’d rather be.  (Well, except maybe the beach considering it’s 30 something degrees right now..)

I am completely and undeservingly blessed.

“There is a trace of You in every hallelujah.”- Audrey Assad: “For Love of You

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. theboatmans / Dec 29 2010 2:28 pm

    I think this may be my favorite Herc blog post to date. So special.

Leave a Reply

