Skip to content
November 1, 2010 / Katy

What I really want to tell you.

I have a blue chair in the corner of my bedroom and it sometimes becomes my sanctuary.  It’s in the farthest corner of my house and I like to think that in this chair I can’t be reached.  By anything.

I’ve wanted to blog for days.  I feel like I have so much to say, but yet I don’t know how to put it all in a nice little bloggy-shaped form with a pinch of sarcasm to make it your typical Hercules post.

I don’t know how to tell you all about being in the midst of restlessness and how God has shown up in everything I read, listen to, and conversations I’ve had, to remind me that in Him I find peace and can be content.

Or how to tell you that after multiple tries at finding the right small group in Nashville, I’ve finally joined a group of ladies at my church, and we’re reading and studying through, Calm My Anxious Heart by Linda Dillow.   God knew exactly where I needed to be, and I’ve found that through listening to women, both my age and older, both single and married, he’s carving out precious lessons from each of their stories to show me a greater picture of life.

And I also didn’t have the time to even tell you I don’t know what happened to September and October.  I mean, really?   Where is the time going?

So I tell you these things from the comfort of my blue chair; where all is quiet, and I can pretend that I don’t have a to-do list of chores or work load to be worrying about.  Because in this chair I find peace.  And comfort.  And know that when I plop down and let out the air that’s built up with every worry, stress-related thought, and nagging self-doubt, I’m letting go of it all and resting in His faithfulness.

……..

What’s meant the most to me lately?  Check out the following things:

The song “Restless” by Audrey Assad

Calm My Anxious Heart by Linda Dillow

The “God is Faithful” sermon from Pete Wilson at Cross Point Community Church.

This blog post titled “Restless” from Sheila Walsh: http://www.sheilawalshblog.com/2010/10/19/restless/

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Andrea Lucado / Dec 7 2010 9:15 pm

    I’m so late in reading this post! But I love it. So well said. And I feel the exact same way about the wicker chair in my room 🙂

Leave a Reply

