Skip to content
August 8, 2010 / Katy

…and so I write.

As you may have noticed, I gave the blog site a little makeover.  I was basically bored with the old background, and I assumed that well.. you were too.  So, I hope you like the changes!

And some of you may or may not have noticed that I changed the subtitle to the blog as well.  It used to say “saving the world one sarcastic comment at a time.”  And while I think that was funny, I don’t want to come across as something I’m not.  I still call sarcasm one of my love languages, but I just figured it was time to step things up a bit.

Plus, these words have been stuck in my head, for the past week: “and so I write”.

There’s something God’s been teaching me over the past year.   So often I only tell Him what I think He wants to hear from me.  I tell Him things in a nice way or in a way I think it should be said.  I forget that I’m talking to the One who MADE me, who knows my every thought, and sees each day dream played out inside my head.  So why am I trying to paint some other picture for Him?  He already knows what the completed painting looks like.

When I get upset or have a bad day, when things don’t turn out the way I planned them, and my dreams don’t come true, I often just shut down and decide not to talk to Him about it.. in fear that He doesn’t want to hear my attitude.

But Jesus didn’t say come to me all who are in a good mood, are happy with their lives, and only say nice things.  He said:

“Come to me, all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

So here’s what I’ve learned.  Here’s what He’s taught me.

The thing I CAN do when I often shut down, is write.  I journal.  Not always as regularly as I would like, but I write out what I really think and what I really feel in the fine lines of my tan, flower covered, Target journal.  It’s my heart.  It’s my prayer.  It’s my plea.

Because I don’t always want to say out loud to God that I’m confused.  I don’t want to tell Him that I don’t understand His plan or that I don’t always know if He really hears me.

And so I write.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. andrealucado / Aug 8 2010 10:11 pm

    Love this post, Katy! I also write for very similar reasons. And I LOVE the blog makeover.

  2. Molly / Aug 9 2010 12:06 pm

    i love this post, too, friend! thanks for sharing. miss the nashville boatman family!! love to you, ansley, and adam.

Leave a Reply

