Skip to content
July 13, 2010 / Katy

My best friend’s having a baby.

Ans is not only my sister-in-law, but she’s my best friend.   I’m blessed in the fact that both of my brothers married great girls that I am proud to call sisters.

After living with Adam and Ansley for the summer, 2 years ago, Ansley and I quickly became more than just family that catches up every now and then, but we became family that calls everyday, knows everything that’s going on, and is basically inseparable.

She’s the sister I never had and always wanted.  She’s the sister I watch mindless reality T.V. shows with, show up at her front door when I need to talk, call when I want to share a funny story, and drag along to an outing if I don’t want to go by myself.

And she’s having a baby in 6 weeks!

I’m ecstatic to meet my niece and I’m already spoiling her with my constant trips through the baby aisle everytime I’m at Target.  I know this baby is going to be such a joy to be around, and I’m soo excited to become an aunt!

But it’s hit me recently, that our time together is going to change.   Phone calls will consist of stories of what the baby ate, how cute she looks in her outfit, and when I can come babysit.  Baby girl will join us for all shopping trips, Sweet Ceces runs, and Pfunky Griddle breakfasts.  🙂

While it’s strange to know that our social life may change a bit, I cannot wait to see my best friend become a mom.   She will be the most fun, caring, and wise mother out there.  And I will be taking notes all the way through, so that hopefully someday she can coach me through being Super Mom.

Because she was made for this.

And don’t even get me started about getting to see my brother as a daddy!  Bring on the tears…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Melody / Jul 14 2010 11:37 am

    Dear Katy,

    What a wonderful blog! I am so grateful that you and Ansley are close in so many ways. You are such a blessing to all of us! I gain great comfort knowing you will be nearby and will be able to help when the two grannies are far away. Thanks so very much! melody

  2. Stephanie / Jul 14 2010 4:09 pm

    (Sniff, sniff) This post is precious Katy! Beautifully put! And, I think you’ll make a pretty great aunt! 🙂

    Steph

Leave a Reply

