Skip to content
June 17, 2010 / Katy

Daddy’s Girl.

In honor of Father’s Day, I want to dedicate this post to the most important man in my life, my Dad.

I can say, without a doubt, that I am very much a daddy’s girl.  Ok, I’m a momma’s girl, too, and spending age 12 to 18 being an “only child,” made it hard not to be close to both of my parents!  While my mom and I share a friendship and love for shopping, my dad and I share something special as well; sarcasm.

Whoops, that’s supposed to say humor.  No, we share a love for cheese dip.  Oh wait, no, love for people-watching.

Ok, ok…

My dad and I share a love for a lot of things.  And that’s what makes our relationship special and a relationship that I’ve taken for granted more than anything.  Because every girl knows that it’s our dads that instill in us the ability to see ourselves as loved.  And beautiful.  And cherished.   And in his eyes, I find out more and more what the love from my Heavenly Father really looks like.

My parents were visiting Nashville last week while CMA Fest was going on.  My mom left early to go home to attend Ansley’s baby showers, so Dad and I had a few days to hang out and catch-up.  And here’s what I love about my dad:

While here, I didn’t have to do anything to try and entertain him.  He’s easily amused with driving around and “exploring” the streets and neighborhoods, the downtown scene, and taking in all that is CMA Fest.  But while we did hang out, he was totally interested and involved in what I do.   My entire Saturday was spent doing things I would do on any other Saturday: walking in the park, grabbing breakfast, relaxing, going to church, and going to a concert.   And my dad was with me through all of it!  But the great part is, he’s interested;  interested in my friends, where I hang out, where I go to church, my favorite places to eat.

It made me think back on all the things we’ve done together over the years.  There are things in my life that hold a special place in my heart, not because they’re super exciting or unique, but because they’re things I do with my dad.

  • My last few years of elementary school, my dad attended an evening Bible study that had a kid’s program as well.  We went together every Monday night, and it was always followed up with a trip to the Dairy Queen right across the street.
  • UGA football to me means, cheese dip, boiled shrimp, and my dad’s special cocktail sause.  I’d choose watching a game in the basement of my house with my dad over standing in Sanford stadium any day.
  • While the Masters golf tournament is a great legacy, I enjoy going to the tournament most when Dad’s by my side.
  • Going to a sporting goods’ store to add to my dad’s never-ending tennis shoe collection never gets old.

And you see, the thing is, I’ve never been very good at telling these things to him.  Well, I’ve never been good at sharing true, deep feelings anyways, but writing it- now THAT I can do.  And while telling my dad face-to-face how much he means to me is so much more special, I know that these words will get across.  Because the blog is always read by my biggest fan, my DAD.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad!    I meant every word.   I love you!  (And mom, go get your Klennex now 🙂 Love you, too.)


3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. David Schroeder / Jun 18 2010 8:39 am

    you two look great! Glad you had so much fun with your dad!
    Dave

  2. Molly / Jun 18 2010 12:24 pm

    love Bill!!! sweet, sweet post!

  3. Caroline Flake / Jun 18 2010 7:32 pm

    love this!!

Leave a Reply

