Skip to content
June 3, 2010 / Katy

When I Grow Up: Part 3

What is rhetoric?

As my major, that’s the famous question myself and my classmates were always asked.  In fact, during my senior exit interview with my professors, I joked with them that as long as I could finally answer that question, I should be allowed to graduate 🙂

The best way I found to describe it, is that Rhetoric, the major, is the study of communications and art of public speaking.  So what did I do?  I gave LOTS of speeches, wrote lots of papers, analyzed speeches, studied methods for persuasive and informative speaking, practiced using my voice to effectively speak, and learned how to take communication theories and discover how they’re used in speeches, websites, movie scripts, and music lyrics.

Through it all, I found that I actually enjoyed what I was learning, and I loved crafting speeches in a way that was intriguing for my audience, but still comfortable and conversational for me to deliver.  It was great.  I had finally found the major that worked for me, I was still on schedule to graduate on time, and my grades were good enough to keep that Dean’s List card still hanging on my parents’ refrigerator.

But none of that really mattered.  I still didn’t have much of a clue what I wanted to do.  I knew some of the things I was passionate about: youth ministry, music, and public speaking, but I didn’t know where to go from there.  Sitting in job interviews, everyone asked, “What is rhetoric?” and no one cared what my GPA was.

I’ve been putting off and almost dreading writing this third post because I felt like it needed to have closure to the story, a good lesson, or a new insight about my discovery for what I want to do.  The truth is, when I started writing Part 1 and even Part 2, I had no idea where the stories were going.  It was just something on my mind, and so I started writing.

But here’s the beauty of it all.  I don’t have to have an ending to the story.  As I continue to discover and pursue my passions, it’s a joy to see God’s plans for me unfold.   Ok, a joy might be a stretch.  It’s not a joy when you’re told “we’re going in a different direction” or “you’re not quite ready for this.”  But it IS a joy to know that God has completely got it under control.

And so I wait.  I pray.  I pursue.  I discover.  I trust.

Because at the end of the day, as I lay in bed and my mind spins to figure out what to do with my life, I know that my true happiness comes from living out the plan He’s set for me, even if I can’t see the full picture yet.  Because it’s not my story, it’s His.

Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to taken hold of it.  But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining towards what is ahead, I press on to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.  All of us who are mature should take such a view of things.  And if on some point you think differently, that too God will make clear to you.  Only let us live up to what we have already attained.”  Phil 3: 13-16

Leave a Reply

