Skip to content
May 24, 2010 / Katy

When I Grow Up: Part 2

At what point does becoming “what you want to be when you grow up” change from a dream to a reality?  And at what point does a job change from a passion, instead into a mean to meet an end?

I didn’t think twice about a dream job or careers, as I stressed over my major in college.  At the time, my means to an end was just finding classes that I took interest in, and that I could do well in.  As I mentioned in Part 1, I didn’t go into college knowing exactly what I wanted to do or having a dream job in mind. 

After my year in the Mass Communications department, I switched my major to what I call “Collective Chaos.”  You see, the major’s true name was Liberal Studies.  No, this did not mean I took classes involving democrats and Obama.  Sorry, the funny’s already been sucked out of that joke.  It was basically a “create your own” major.  You were allowed to pick four disciplines, or focuses, and there was a requirement of how many classes of each discipline you took.

For a girl who didn’t know exactly what I wanted, this sounded great.  A little bit of everything.   But surprise, surprise- that didn’t work for me either.  The disciplines I chose were, Rhetoric (public speaking), Public Relations, Psychology, and Religion.  Biggest problem?  The college kept saying our religion classes were “coming soon.”  Not soon enough for my schedule!   The confusion and disorganization of the major and its advisor sent me running after one semester.

Back to the drawing board.

There were two jewels in all of the “Collective Chaos” classes I took, though: Intro to Public Speaking and Informative Speaking.  While I thought I was going to hate these classes, it was quite the opposite.  I loved them.  So, when it came time to change to major #3, I stood in front of a Rhetoric professor as she asked, “Well, do you know what you want to do after college?”  I said, “Nope.  But I know I like these classes, and for some reason, I seem to be good at them.”

And so, major #3 began.  Rhetoric.  Or what Ansley likes to call “majoring in talking out loud.”

I had no idea what I would do with the major, no end goal in mind (besides graduating), but I knew, that for once, I liked what I was learning.

To be continued..

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. andrealucado / May 24 2010 4:24 pm

    We had such opposite experiences. I was forced to take one public speaking general course and HATED it. I could barely come up with the big long 5 minute speech at the end of the class. More power to ya!!

  2. erika / May 25 2010 1:37 pm

    oh the fateful night when we sat in my living room & decided to switch majors. what a beautiful moment :). haha.

Leave a Reply

