Skip to content
May 21, 2010 / Katy

When I Grow Up: Part 1

Do you remember when you were 5 and adults would ask you: “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

And, do you remember what you answered?

There was always the kid that wanted to be President; usually a handful of doctors, an astronaut or two, and the dog-loving child that wanted to be a vet.  My answer?  Teacher.  Always wanted to be a teacher.

But over the years, that idea changed, and I have no explanation as to why.  No one seemed to ask or even care about what you would do when you grow up until you reached your junior year of high school, and your future meant SAT scores and college applications.  That’s when figuring out what you want to do turns just plain complicated.

You stress over SAT scores, procrastinate with college applications, and finally reach the step where you stand with acceptance letters in hand, and make the final decision of where you’ll spend your next few years.  But then the complications continue.  It’s then time to decide what you’ll major in and making that decision at 18 seems almost impossible.  Or at least for me, it did.

I had no clue what I wanted to major in when I entered college, so I went in as an Undeclared major.  I took all the basic, required classes, and a few electives and hoped that something in me would click; something would show me the road map to my future career.  If only it was that simple.

For some people, it is!  They’ve always known they wanted to be a nurse, so they take their core classes, apply for nursing school, complete nursing school, take their boards, and become a nurse.  Done and done. 

Again, for me, not so simple.  After a semester or so of core classes, I decided that I had an interest in communications, so I decided to apply for our Mass Communications program with a focus in Public Relations.  Not realizing how popular and competitive of a major this was, I began to worry that I would even get in.  I heard other students talk about their plans for the major, their ideas for internships, and their good grades, and I wondered once again if I was making the right decision.  I got into the program, however, and spent the next year learning more about Mass Communications and Public Relations.

It was after that year, though, that I realized it wasn’t for me.  While I enjoyed making flyers to promote events, writing press releases (sometimes), and partnering with a local business to improve marketing, I knew that the sales initiative aspect was the buzz-kill for me.   In order to be able to do all of these things well, I had to be passionate about what I was promoting.  And I wasn’t.

To be continued….

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Sara Jane / May 25 2010 2:34 pm

    I feel ya. I am still figuring out what I want to be when I grow up. I think I’m getting closer… It’s so hard to decide at 18 what you want to do with your life and then choose a major that will allow you to do that thing but won’t disappoint your parents.

Leave a Reply

