Skip to content
May 17, 2010 / Katy

I may regret admitting this…

In college we used to catch random episodes of MTV’s Made while we sat on the couch and procrastinated doing our homework.   For those of you that have never seen it, the show gives a teenager the opportunity to learn a skill they’ve always wanted to try.  They give them a mentor/teacher for a few weeks and we watch and follow as they train and try it out  embarrass themselves.

My roommates and I would laugh at the poor soul who’d have to walk through their high school wearing pageant heels because she wanted to be a pageant girl, or the kid who continuously fell off his skateboard because he wanted to be the next, err, well I dont’ know any famous skateboarders’ names..  (not ashamed of that).

As we watched we would always ask each other what we would want to do if we were placed on the show.  And my answer?  Be made into a hip hop dancer.

 

You can stop laughing now.

I mean, how fun would that be?  I totally respect dancers for their artistry and rhythm.  And I love the fast pace and heart pounding beat of hip hop. 

Well, guess what?  I’m going to be on Made!

Ok, no.  No, I’m not.  But I AM going to take a HIP HOP DANCE CLASS!  

I’ve come to realize that sitting in a cubical all day can be a little draining, so I’ve tried my best to make sure I have fun and creative outlets after work.  I go to the gym regularly, I walk outside a lot, I write (hence the blog), I play my guitar,  you get the picture.  So, I decided the other day that I’m going to add Hip Hop dance class to my list of things to do, and starting in August consider it done!

Now, this new adventure is likely to result in embarrassment, laughter, and fun stories, and I promise to include you in on all of it! 

So, Fall class of Adult Hip Hop – here. I. come.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. andrealucado / May 18 2010 9:14 am

    I’m coming to your first recital and bringing the video camera! 🙂

Leave a comment