Skip to content
May 10, 2010 / Katy

Beyond the walls.

It feels almost inconsiderate to try and blog about anything other than the flood and Nashville.  And I’ll be honest, at this point, I don’t want to.  I don’t want to forget.  I want to be able to remember what it felt like to see my city under water, to look out the window as I drove the down the streets of Bellevue and stared at people’s furniture and memories scattered on their front lawns.   It’s not that I want to remember the heartbreak for co-workers and neighbors, or the uncertainty of knowing when the rain would stop, but I want to remember the way it changed us.   The way it woke us up.  And the way the rain, that destroyed and drenched and disintegrated, made us come alive.

Everyone in Nashville is talking about it.  I have lots of friends that blog as well, and they each have shared their part of the story. Dre wrote about the efforts of our city and the power that the words “We are Nashville” have had.  Annie reminded us that what we can’t see in pictures on the news is the spirit of this town and its people.  And through all of the rallying and support, websites and initiatives have been born that act almost as a headquarters for all things Nashville Flood- related. (http://www.wearenashville.org).

I missed being in Nashville for church on Sunday, because I knew the stories of service, love, and hope would be powerful.  But as I worshiped at my home church in Augusta, I was almost brought to tears as I thought back over the week and realized that I had seen the true meaning of church all week long.  I had seen it in the 250+ strangers I built a sand bag wall with.  I had seen it in the people going door-to-door to hand out water bottles, and I had seen it in the mud-covered hands and feet of the volunteers helping to tear out the walls and carpet of neighbors’ homes.

No one in Nashville has been immune to the flood.  Everyone has a friend, a family member, or a co-worker that was affected. And therefore, no one in Nashville is immune to the feeling of community, comradery, and pride for this town.  But we have a long road ahead.  We’ve all done something in the past week, whether it’s been donate money, help clear out homes, buy supplies, or conserve water.  But we cannot forget.

It will be easy to let this feeling of urgency and passion for Nashville slip away as time goes by.  But the family that’s lost every old picture, their favorite shirts, and their children’s baby clothes, will not forget.  And it’s for them that we continue to walk through the destruction and rebuild this city.  And I’m proud to say that in Nashville over the past 7 days, I’ve seen Jesus outside the walls of the sanctuary.

Leave a Reply

