Skip to content
March 3, 2010 / Katy

There’s no place like Milledgeville.

This past weekend, I roadtripped (yes, that’s a word :)) down to Milledgeville (with Erika and Zack) to hang with good friends and pretend like I was in college again.  My college experience there was the best 4 years of my life, and I was so excited to be back in the small town and relive some of the memories.  But I will say this- it was weird.  Weird to be back and have to find somewhere to stay.  Weird to visit the houses I used to hang out at all the time, but my friends didn’t live in them anymore.  And weird to walk the streets and see faces I didn’t recognize.

Despite the weirdness, however, it was still a great weekend!  I got to reunite with some of my best friends (Erika, Care, and Dana),  hang out with friends I haven’t seen since May (Heather, Clay, Jessica, Katie, Maggie, and Alana), make new friends (Zack), and see high school girls I’ve dearly missed (Ferrell, Shelley, Maria, and EA).  All of this made my heart very happy.

And a special shout out to Alana and Ashtyn for letting Erika and I crash in your room!  And another to Smitty- glad I got to see you in Scarietta.

The beauty of Milledgeville is that you can spend a weekend doing nothing, and be completely happy about it.   Because there really is nothing to do there, we always created our own fun.  And this weekend that tradition continued.    We spent lots of time just hanging out.  We had lots of fun convos, spent time in our favorite coffee shop, Blackbird; drove around to see places we missed, had a game night, went to IHOP at 1am, played wiffle ball on front campus, and of course ate at The Brick.

But let me not forget my favorite part of the weekend- the Gatewood girls’ state basketball game!   I was a Young Life leader at Gatewood during college and it just so happened that the girls basketball team was playing for the state title while I was in town.  I was SO excited to watch the girls play and cheer them on all the way to the state title!  CONGRATS girls!  Shelley and Maria- you are ballers!!  It was so good to see you and I’m so proud of you both!!

All in all it was a great weekend, and I am thankful that I spent my college years in a town where the joy is found in heartfelt relationships and simple, small town fun.

Here’s a few pics.  Photo credit goes to Erika Crosby:

Before lunch at the Brick

hanging on the one-way

playing some wiffle ball

chilling on front campus

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Chili in Milly / Mar 3 2010 11:29 pm

    I heard there was an awesome rapper dude down there with yall. Where are the pictures of him?

    • erikacc / Mar 5 2010 10:25 am

      also a very great wiffle ball pitcher.

  2. erika / Mar 4 2010 10:48 am

    yahhh millyvegas! great weekend :).

Leave a Reply

