Skip to content
February 22, 2010 / Katy

I have the diet of a 5-year-old.

Tonight, I had a Lunchable for dinner.  And it was so good!  I was roaming the grocery store yesterday, tired of trying to figure what to cook warm-up (let’s face it, I don’t cook much) for dinner every night and I stumbled upon the Lunchables.  What’s not to love about cheese, ham, and crackers?!   Now, yes, I could buy my own package of crackers, ham, and cheese and make that myself, but the thing I love about a Lunchable is that it chooses my portion for me; something I’m sometimes not so good at.  Not to mention, it comes with a juice box and fun-size candy bar.  Hello?!  What’s not to love?

I also have a peel-and-eat cheese stick with my lunch every day.  Yes, I’m 23, and yes, I eat 5 year olds’ favorite foods.  My pantry is always stocked with Kraft Mac-and Cheese, Chewy Granola bars, and PB & J.   I have a cup of milk or juice in the morning (not coffee), I love fruit snacks, and I order a grilled cheese at Sonic. 🙂

Why am I telling you this?  I don’t know!  But the other day, while eating lunch in the cafeteria at work (that sounds so lame) the girls and I were discussing fun foods we miss from our childhood.  Here’s what we came up with.  Let me know if you can think of more!

1.  Fruit-by-the-Foot.   We decided we’d really love to buy one and measure to see if it’s really a foot or if they were always lying to us…

2.  Dunk-a-Roos.  Dunking graham sticks in chocolate frosting, yes please!

3. Ring pops.  I still love these things.  I remember getting them all the time when going to watch my friends’ brothers’ baseball games.

4.  Crackers and cheese (Handy snacks). Remember the red stick that came in the pack to spread the cheese with?

5.  Gushers.  When you really think about it, gushers are not that good.. sugary juice squirting in your mouth out of a gummy circle.  That doesn’t seem very appetizing anymore.

6. War Heads.  Only the biggest fad of the 5th (?) grade.   I remember asking my Mom when/if she was going to Sam’s Club if she could buy me a huge pack of war heads.  You were not cool unless you brought them to school.  And, they were/are totally gross.

7. Little Debbie cakes.  I still have to fight the temptation to buy these.  I love the holiday kind- the Christmas tree cakes and pink Valentine hearts.  That was always the best part of my brown paper bag lunch.

Well, after all this food talk, now I’m hungry again.  And bless the poor guy who I marry’s heart.  I’ll be the wife saying, “Here honey, fix yourself a Lunchable.”

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Annie / Feb 22 2010 11:51 pm

    You are crazy. And I love you.

  2. Andrea Lucado / Mar 4 2010 9:08 am

    Bahaha! I love this post. And Gushers are STILL awesome and now Gushers and Sour Patch Kids have combined=soury gushery goodness!

  3. bookjunkie / May 16 2010 1:52 pm

    I am much older and have a child’s palate too 🙂 weird junk food is always a comfort to me

Leave a Reply

