Skip to content
December 14, 2009 / Katy

Meet my roomie.

This is my roomie, Dre.  Ok, her name is Andrea, but I call her Dre 🙂

When she moved in, I had never met her in person and she had never seen the condo in person.  Lots of trusting, right?!  Well- she’s great!  A co-worker knew that Dre was moving to Nashville and would be working at Thomas Nelson, and also knew that we were around the same age and I was looking for a roommate.  Two emails exchanged between Dre and I, and we were officially roommates!  Ansley (my sis-in-law) likes to call it going on 2 blinddates then getting married… whatever.. NOT the same!  I thought it’d be fun to interview Dre (ok, it was Ansley’s idea…) and let you get to know a little more about my roomie:

1) Me: What made you move to Nashville?

Dre: My job at Thomas Nelson as an editorial assistant in the fiction department
 
2) Me: Which is your favorite meal- breakfast, lunch, or dinner?

Dre: breakfast, for sure! It’s the most important meal of the day- don’t skip it.
 
3) Me: I hear your dad is a writer??? (I have no idea where that came from :))- do you have any interest in writing?

Dre: Why, yes, my dad is a writer of Christian Inspirational books . I like writing too, actually I love it. It’s probably my favorite thing to do. Guess it’s in the genes!
 
4) Me: Why do you like to do the dishes by hand? (For a person who takes advantage of the dishwasher whenever I can, I find this interesting.. )

Dre:  There are few answers to this one: it reminds me of the time I lived in England and didn’t have a dishwasher. It’s therapeutic and gives me time to think. And there is just something about degreasing a pan that gives me a great sense of accomplishment.

5) Me: If you had a Saturday to do ANYTHING- what would you do with your Saturday?

Dre: Oh man, I would sleep till 9:30 and be outside all day: I would go on a hike to a beach with my favorite people and have a picnic and be there all day and watch the sunset and then eat ice cream.
 
6) Me: Who do you talk to on the phone the most?

Dre: My mom. Hands down.
 
7) Me: Favorite book?

Dre: The Giver. I haven’t read it since I was 9 but it was really good then.
 
8- Me:  What’s your dream job?

Dre: Passport to Europe travel show host. Or a writer.
 
9) Me:  Why is your roommate so cool?

Dre: She never fishes for compliments 🙂 She makes a mean mac n cheese, she’s interested in exploring Nashville with me and she’s solid in her faith and friendships, not to mention she’s handling the first post-college year with a lot more grace than I did!

         (I told you Dre was great!)

10) Me: What is your favorite thing about Nashville so far?

Dre: The tall trees, true seasons and funny mix of hipsters and cowboy hats.

Leave a Reply

