Skip to content
November 12, 2009 / Katy

And the award goes to…

So, it’s probably not a secret that I’m a BIG fan of Lady Antebellum (for many reasons!).  Last night, the CMA awards were held here in Nashville, and a group of friends and I sat around the T.V. to watch Lady A perform and see the outcome of the awards.  Everytime they’re nominated for something we all try to down-play it, so we won’t be disappointed if they don’t win.  We never say, “Oh, they have it in the bag,” because you just never know!  But last night we were truly shocked and so proud that Lady Antebellum was given the award for “Single of the Year” for their #1 hit, “I Run to You,” and the award for “Group of the Year.”  What an honor!

Last year, Lady A was awarded, “Best New Artist” and we all celebrated and literally screamed at the T.V. as they won.  As we all have relived that moment over the past year, so many stories have been told about people’s reaction when they won:

“I fell off my chair!”

“I was speechless.”

“I cried.”

“I ran around my house screaming!” (that was me :))

So, I decided that this year, I would video the announcement of the awards, so just in case they won, I would have that moment documented.  And let me say, I’m so glad I did!  In a room full of people that love and support Lady Antebellum, the reactions were priceless 🙂  I hope you enjoy this as much as we did: (Sorry, it’s so dark, but you can get the picture).

Single of the Year

Vocal Group of the Year

Yes, that was lots of screaming, lots of jumbled mess  you can’t understand, some jumping up and down (that you couldn’t see) and Ans and I freaking out over Adam’s video being shown.. but what can I say?  We’re so proud!

I am proud to support people that are worthy of these awards, that are humble in accepting them, and that write music worth listening to.  Congratulations Dave, Charles, and Hillary!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Angie / Nov 13 2009 6:52 am

    This is great!! Thanks for posting!!

  2. Lisa / Nov 13 2009 5:30 pm

    Awwww…I cried all over again!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

