Skip to content
November 5, 2009 / Katy

The art of being a teacher’s pet.

When I was 7, my 2nd grade teacher, let me fill up her small cooler with ice everyday.  Big deal, right?!  Well, it was a big deal.

For a 7 year old to be allowed to walk down to the cafeteria by herself, go into the kitchen, fill up the cooler with ice, and return to the classroom all by herself was indeed a big deal.  I was a teacher’s pet.

I’m ok with admitting that, though, because I was never the obnoxious, brown-noser, type.  I learned throughout the years that being respectful, quiet, and following the rules got you a long way.  Teachers trusted you and believed in you.  You got to write on the board, stay after class and talk, and be class monitor. 

Fast forward to now.  I’m 22, no longer in school, and no longer have a teacher.  But I do a have boss.  I can still be respectful, quiet (when listening is needed more than talking), and follow the rules.  And it pays off!  My boss is awesome, and he does things like decorate my desk for me every month!

desk pic 1

desk pic 2

So, is it ok to still be a teacher’s pet at 22?  Sure!  And it doesn’t hurt to compliment the boss, laugh at his jokes (even if they aren’t funny) and bring him baked goods either.  I know what you’re thinking… Katy, your boss is going to read this..

I know!  Who else do you think I learn these tricks from?!  And Brian, your jokes are ALWAYS funny!  …..

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Brian / Nov 5 2009 4:03 pm

    You are so funny!! I just know that this is what you call your “first real job” and I’m just trying to set the bar so high you’ll a) Never quit! or b) demand to be treated with respect on your job, or c) NEVER QUIT! 🙂

    As for decorating your cube… people would laugh at me if I did that to my own cube each month, but think it’s admirable for me to do it to yours… see? I get to play the “metro” decorator without the ridicule from the rest of the crew under the guise of “good leadership”!! So selfish of me, yes… but you already knew that!

  2. AnnieBlogs / Nov 5 2009 4:53 pm

    Katy, as a former school teacher, it’s funny to think about the kids who I trusted to get my ice- the idea that in 12 years they would blog about that is hilarious to me.

    I’m glad you’re the teacher’s pet. That’s probably why I like you so much. That and your puppy chow.

    Love. 🙂

Leave a Reply

