Skip to content
October 30, 2009 / Katy

Meet Bunny.

This is my favorite stuffed animal, Bunny.

His name is original. I know. Growing up everyone always said, “Oh, what a cute stuffed animal! What’s his name?”  I’d respond with a simple, “bunny” and would then be given the typical smile-and-nod response as people walked away thinking, “Gee, what a bright kid… ” (please sense the sarcasm..).   I went through a phase where Bunny’s name was Jesse, but once I met the curly haired, mullet-sporting, Jesse, on Saved By the Bell, I couldn’t sleep with the idea of clutching onto that it went back to Bunny.

Now, I know what you’re thinking.  Katy, you’re 22 years old, and you’re blogging about a stuffed animal?  But, people, let me explain.  Bunny has been a part of my life since I was 7.   How could I not talk about someone who’s been a part of my life for 15 years?  I talk about my friends Lindsay and Caroline who I’ve known for 16 years.. I mean, really, it’s only fair 🙂

My Aunt Dianne gave me Bunny when I was 7.  It wasn’t my birthday, wasn’t Christmas, no special occasion.  She had just seen him somewhere and decided to get it for me. 

I don’t if you can tell by the picture, but Bunny has been through alot.   The thing has been everywhere.  All over Georgia. The beach.  Texas.  Disney World. Colorado. England. Florida. Honduras. Canada.  I decided to leave him at home during my trip to Africa; I didn’t want him to get malaria..   but that was a LONG 6 weeks away from the thing!

Bunny suffered an injury when I was 9.  A girl, who will remain nameless, ripped his ear off at a sleepover.  I would like to say that it was an accident.  But let’s just say she and I are not friends anymore..  well except for on facebook, because if you just made eye contact with someone, it’s legit to be facebook friends.  I found Bunny’s missing ear a couple months ago when I was cleaning out my closets.  We saved it because we were going to sew the ear back on.  Guess we dropped the ball on that one, Mom!  haha!

Bunny also had a rough day about 3 years ago, when I left him in Milledgeville one night while I went home to Augusta for the weekend.  My college roommates thought it’d be a cute idea to hold him hostage..

bunny pic

The picture that was sent to me...

They think they’re funny…

The thing is also a walking time-bomb.  Ask my college roommates, I washed him, for maybe the 1st time that I can remember, 2 years ago.  That’s called 13 years of dust, germs, hair, etc resting by my head at night.  I really should be more unstable than I am.. 🙂  Let’s just say, as much as I love the thing, Bunny is not one of those stuffed animals I’ll pass along to my children.

So, why do I tell you all this?  Because this worn out, germ infested, former hostage has seen me through alot.  I’ve held onto him while sharing heart to heart conversations at sleepovers, cried into him after drama-filled days, and clutched him tight while laying sick in bed.  He may not be a person, and may not be considered cool for a 22-year-old to still have, but at the end of the day, it’s nice to have something to hold onto. Long live the Bunny!

Leave a Reply

