Skip to content
October 29, 2009 / Katy

I have the greatest. mom. ever.

Meet my mom. I think she’s awesome. And let me tell you why:

mom

My mom and I at my graduation, 5/09

She came up to Nashville to visit me, and Adam, and Ansley (bro&sister-in-law) for the past few days.  I was excited because this was my first time having my own place, being in the real world, etc. and my mom was going to stay with me.  My roommate and I made sure we cleaned- everything was dusted, the sinks were wiped down, and clothes were put away.   I would say we vacuumed, but well… we haven’t bought one yet!

I knew my mom was excited to get away for a few days and enjoy the fun of Nashville.  She got to come see where I work, meet my boss, shop, have lunch with my brother, go to the studio to see Lady Antebellum work on their next album, go to church with me, and just enjoy being with her kids.  She was only here for 2 and a 1/2 days, so it was a lot to squeeze in.

But here is where the “my mom is awesome”-part comes in.  My mom has a servant’s heart.  Anyone that knows her can testify to this.  Within her busy schedule while she was here, she found time to help me “catch up” on life.  First of all, she arrived on Sunday with tons of food.  I mean, my pantry is full!  I now have Poppyseed Chicken casserole, Baked Ziti, Sconyers barbeque (you AUG people should appreciate that!), Taco Soup, all the fixings to make chicken quesadillas, and lots of snacks.  By the looks of my freezer you would think that I was just hit up by the church ladies’ meal committee.

The food was just the start though.  Let me just list some of the things my mom did to help me:

1. I said I needed more light in my room.  She bought a floor lamp and put it together herself while I was at work.

2. Did ALL of my laundry without me asking her to.

3. Swept our floors.

4. Baked pumpkin muffins and had them warm and waiting for me when I got home from work.

5. Labeled my keys because I had made a comment about not being able to ever find the right key.

6. Went to CVS and bought toothpaste and body wash because she noticed mine looked low.

7. Bought a decorative vase for our dining area because it needed it.

8. And bought us a VACUUM!

I don’t tell you this to make you think my mom spoils me or to brag, or anything like that.  I tell you this because I admire my mom and her selfless heart.  I didn’t ask her to do any of this.  I wanted her to come up, relax, have fun, and enjoy herself.  But when she left yesterday morning, and I thanked her for all she had done, she looked me in the eye and said she had had the best time, and was so happy to help me get caught up.   She did it because she wanted to.

This evening, my roommate, Dre, and I were talking about our moms and their giving nature and spirits.  She said, “You know, I just hope that I am that giving to my children one day.”  Me too, Dre.  Me too.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Caroline Flake / Oct 29 2009 10:11 am

    this makes me miss your mom so much. i can testify to how much of a servant she is!

  2. Beth Meagher / Oct 29 2009 5:10 pm

    Katy,
    I, too, love your mom and second your comments about her servant’s heart. I can guarantee you that as much as she has done for you and your brothers, she has done even more of which you are not aware. She has a sweet spirit and can calm a room just by walking in. Enjoy n-ville and your journey into ‘real’ adulthood.

  3. Angie / Oct 30 2009 10:40 am

    I love your mom! She brings so much love, joy, hope and faith into my life!! I watch her selfless acts of love for others, her devotion to teaching God’s Word and I marvel that God allows me to be influenced by such a great woman of God!

  4. caitlin davison / Nov 5 2009 11:00 am

    um..I just cried reading this.

Leave a Reply

