Skip to content
October 28, 2009 / Katy

Telling it like it is.

(published Tuesday, June 23, 2009)
There are so many words to describe God; patient, just, loving, and holy. And God is called by so many names. He’s called Master, Teacher, Abba, Jehovah. And He even says, He is the Great I Am, and we are His beloved.

But there’s something I’ve come to realize lately. We are so programmed to always wanting to receive encouragement and affirmation from others that we even want them to label us. I know that I am a Christian because I have a real, personal relationship with Jesus. It doesn’t change the fact that I want someone to recognize it though. I want someone to look at me and call me a Christian so that it seems right and real to me. Now, while having others recognize that I am a follower of Christ is great thing, for other aspects of my life, searching for a label from people is not necessary, but I do it.

I love to write. I always have. I’ve never really shared my writing with others though. I’ve always kept it to myself and pretended I was only taking Creative Writing classes to “make an easy A.” The truth is, I actually really loved those classes. I’ve kept a journal of thoughts, and written poetry off and on my entire life. And over the past couple of years, as my guitar playing skills have advanced, I begun fulfilling a dream of putting my writing to music. But of course, I want to share my writing, and I want people to tell me I’m good. I want them to tell me I’m a writer, tell me I’m a songwriter.

WHY DO I DO THAT, THOUGH?! I write because I like to. Period. End of story. I don’t need anyone to affirm in me that I love to write. I didn’t wake up one day and say I’m going to be a writer. I just do it. God gave me the gift and ability to sing and write, therefore I’ve written some songs, and I’m a songwriter. God calls me beloved, and I believe it. He gave me the gift of being able to listen well to people. So, I’m a good listener. He gave me the gift of encouragement; so I’m an encourager.

What I need to believe most is that God is where I find my affirmation. I don’t need anyone to tell me what I am because I can find that written in God’s Truth. Do I love the reminders, ideas, and compliments from others? Of course. I would be lying if I said I didn’t. But the greatest reminder to myself and you is that the truth about our selves is found in the most obvious place- the One who created us.

Leave a Reply

