Skip to content
October 28, 2009 / Katy

Let’s talk about food for a second…

(posted Wednesday, June 24, 2009)
So, seriously. Can we talk about how much we love food for a second? If anyone ever wants to know why I can’t lose weight.. here we go. (And let me make it clear- I’m happy with the way I am, and don’t think I have an issue… so this isn’t a cry for advice about weight issues; I’m good, thanks.)

I love food! But who doesn’t? Thanksgiving is like Christmas (interesting analogy, huh?) because you walk into the kitchen and it’s like a million presents all in the form of casseroles topped with marshmallows. Yummm. At my house you basically take any vegetable, you name it, and mix it with Cream of Whatever soup, add cheese, and some crumbled crackers, and you’ve got a delectable dish. And can we talk about the love of cheese dip at Mexican restaurants? Good gosh. I’m never hungry by the time I get my meal, but you can’t eat Mexican without the cheese dip. I’ve vowed that at my wedding reception I’m having a cheese dip fountain instead of a chocolate fountain. Ok, so I’ll probably have both.

In third world countries, food is a treat; a way to survive and gain nourishment. Here, though, it’s a way of life. We socialize through food. I’ve found this so true within the last week. As I’ve been trying to meet people and network in Nashville, the best way to break the ice with someone is to say, “Can we grab lunch or coffee sometime soon?” I think I’m running out of money because I’m going on so many “lunch meetings.”

When we want to hang out with our friends or even go on a date, we usually always plan it around eating. We go to lunch, go to dinner and movie, go get ice cream, have dinner parties. Even when we try to do something different like go to a concert or sporting event, there’s always food involved (because you can’t forget the popcorn or bottled water with the jacked-up prices!).

Do I really have a point to all this? No, not really. I just had to stop and think about much food plays a role in our live. And I have to say, I’m not complaining. I come from a family of eaters. We don’t play around with the words like quiche and vegetable tray. No, if there’s a tray it’s got cheese on it, and if there’s vegetables we call those twice-baked potatoes and macaroni and cheese. Can I get an amen?

Leave a Reply

