Skip to content
October 28, 2009 / Katy

It’s not about what you know, it’s about who you know

(posted Thursday, June 18, 2009)
If you know me well, you know that one of my favorite movies is Mean Girls. I just love it. While some of the characters and situations are slightly exaggerated, for the most part that movie is very accurate. We’ve all known a Regina (or been a Regina.. I’m not calling anyone out…) and we’ve all had something we wanted to write in a burn book.

One of my favorite scenes is when the girl gets on stage in the gym during the “therapy session” and tells everyone that she just wants to “bake a cake full or rainbows and smile!” Then from the back of the room, the gay friend (we all have one, or at least want one), Damien, yells from underneath his hood, “She doesn’t even go here!!”

Poor girl. She just has a lot of feelings. She just wanted to be accepted, understood, feel important.

In the past 24 hours I’ve been told multiple times, “it’s not so much what you know, but who you know.” Darn cliches. I hate them. But in all honesty they work better to describe most situations than anything else. Everyone continues to tell me that it’s going to be the people I know and the connections I make that will get me a job I want. Not just searching for random listings on the internet.

Just like the girl with feelings in Mean Girls. She just needed someone she knew to verify that she was normal and belonged there… bless her heart. She just needed a connection. It’s all about the networking.

So, today I sit in coffee shop where I only know one person. I work from my computer, something I could do at home from the couch, but I’m reaching out. I want to be seen, and I want to be known. Because I don’t want anyone yelling, “She doesn’t even go here!” at me.

Leave a Reply

