Skip to content
October 28, 2009 / Katy

2 years later…

(posted Monday, October 19, 2009)

Exactly 2 years ago, I took a road trip from Milledgeville with 2 of my best friends, Erika and Caroline to go the UGA/Vandy game in Nashville. It was 1) a chance to see the Dawgs play, and 2) a chance to visit my brother and sister-in-law who lived in Nashville. I remember the weather was awesome, the game was so fun, and the weekend was a great time spent with family and friends. See pic.

UGA/VANDY 2007

Katy, Caroline, and Erika in 2007

We left and drove back to school on Sunday and I remember just being obsessed with Nashville for the rest of the week. I just loved it. And I knew that I wanted to go back. I called my sister and told her how much I just loved the town, and how I really wanted to try to find an internship there for the summer, so I could truly experience Nashville.

And so I did. I moved up there that following summer (the summer before my
senior year) and lived with Ad&Ans, and interned at a church. It was one of the best summers ever. I cried when I left to return to school; not because I didn’t want to begin my senior year and be back with my friends, but because I knew my heart was being drawn to Nashville.

Two years after that UGA/Vandy game, I find myself living in Nashville and extremely happy! On Saturday, the Dawgs returned to this great city and rallied a win for us. Of course, the day was not complete without good food and good friends and family. I’m thankful that my family bonds over Georgia football, so my other brother and his fiance joined us in town for the fun. It was good sibling bonding indeed! I think the thing that I find even more special is that Erika and Caroline road tripped up here yet again to cheer on the Dawgs, but this year to visit me!

UGA/VANDY 2009

Erika, Katy, and Caroline 2009

Who knew that two years ago, when I drove away from this special place that I would return to live and work here. Oh Nashville, how I love you!

And p.s. Erika, of course your hair color changed like 10 time in those 2 years. haha! But that’s why we love you!

Leave a Reply

